Innkeeper as Superwoman?

Are you a superwoman?

1) Being raised with a strong work ethic – ki adam laamal yulad (Job 5:7) – man was created to work. They expect to work.

I remember daddy’s desk “pre-Internet”.. neatly organized stacked paperwork… he knew where as and could recreate it on a dime when asked. I was also raised with a strong work ethic. We always worked summers and part time through college. Since graduating, I have always worked – done the “Sunday going to meeting clothes” corporate world stint for many years. Now I’ve gone country to open and run an inn.. no small task either, but truly a labor of love.

2) They actually LIKE to work and can feel uncomfortable doing nothing – “I’ll rest when I’m in the grave.”

Well….I do enjoy my vegging out time. That consists of riding and training the horses. Even when I’m in the middle of computer work… if I need a break… I’ll go clean a bathroom… even if we havent had guests… ah cathartic.

3) Super organized – they don’t waste their time looking for their car keys, having to run to the makolet (corner store) in the middle of cooking because they are out of something etc. I have an ultra race or endurance ride coming up… I’m packed and ready to go two weeks before.. Meeting with my accountant… got the stuff packedand ready to go so i dont have to think about it the morning of.

4) Patient husbandsMy husband is a doll. He’s a great cook, and generally gives me my “space”. As Thoreau said “Let there be spaces in your togetherness”. It works for us.

5) Don’t sweat the small stuff – they don’t lose energy because their neighbor didn’t answer them when they said hello etc.

Plead guilty or should that be insanity to this one. A work in progress for me.

6) Do it now – they wash the soup dishes while their husband sings zmirot,(maybe that’s why we don’t sing in my house?) wash the food processor as soon as the kugel goes in the oven etc.

Yes a I never leave dirty dishes or an unclean counter as that is a pet peeve of mine. I dotwo to three loads of laundry daily. Thank G-d for central vac and housecleaner who comes when needed. A major luxury…

7) Know their limits – they may leave all weddings at 10 because if they’re not in bed by 11 they can’t function the next day etc.

Yup, been there done that…

No nonsense – set limits and stick to them – supper is lasagna, if you don’t like it you can make yourself a sandwich. Breakfasts though are totally guided by what the guests want but still figured out the night before so there’s less chaos.

So, what do you think makes a superwoman?

I think it is a myth. You never know what goes behind closed doors, anyways.

I think I’ll go muck a stall right after I bake up a batch o’ oatmeal cookies. I think there is no limit on what you can do with a basic oatmeal cookie. An unprecedented opportunity for creativity either way, they’re one of my favourite cookies.

These oatmeal apple cookies are no exception. . After throwing in the optional walnuts and raisins, came out with bot ha hearty and “semi” healthy cookie. From Recipezaar

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup chopped dried apples

Directions

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Combine the flour, cinnamon and baking soda.

Gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Fold in oat and apples. Drop by rounded tablespoons 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes. Let stand for 1 minute before removing to wire racks. Makes 48 cookies and energy to… trot on friends, trot on.

Leave a Reply

